New IHK President

Dr. Heike Wenzel was elected head of the board

The Aschaffenburg Chamber of Commerce and Industry has a new president. In its constituent meeting on Thursday, February 17 in Martinushaus Aschaffenburg, the new plenary assembly elected Dr. Heike Wenzel to head the body. The 50-year-old managing director of WENZEL metrology GmbH, Heigenbrücken succeeds Friedbert Eder, who no longer stood as a candidate for the Assembly. Friedbert Eder had been IHK president since 2014. He continues to be an honorary member of the IHK plenary assembly.

In his last meeting as IHK President, Eder thanked the plenary assembly for its trust and good cooperation. "A chamber is only as good and efficient as the sum of all committees, groups and functionaries within the IHK," he emphasised. He praised the perfect cooperation, which had made it easy for him and the previous presidium members to represent the Chamber to the outside world.

At the constituent meeting, the General Assembly also elected the Presidium for the legislative period 2022-2026. The two Vice Presidents Jörg Reinmuth and Frank Schlottke were confirmed in office. New members of the Presidium are Gerald Breunig, Jürgen Schäfer, Vanessa Weber and Thomas Zenglein. Horst Michaels and Martin Suffel are Honorary Presidents of the General Assembly.

The topics of securing skilled workers, strengthening the Bavarian Lower Main region as a business location and the Frankfurt Rhine-Main metropolitan region will continue to be on the agenda of the Aschaffenburg Chamber of Commerce and Industry in the future. IHK President Dr. Wenzel announced that climate protection and sustainability will be given even greater focus. "Many companies are already committed to sustainable business. We will support the economy in the Bavarian Lower Main region on this path and, as an IHK organization, we will also advocate competitive location conditions for our companies. This includes faster planning and approval procedures as well as internationally competitive energy prices," she emphasized.

Around 29,000 eligible voters were called upon in November and December last year to elect the Assembly for the five-year term from 2022 to 2026. Of the 55 members of the newly elected Assembly, 26 are members of the "Parliament of the Regional Economy" for the first time. Claus Jäger, Spokesman of the Board of Raiffeisen-Volksbank Aschaffenburg eG, Aschaffenburg was elected at the constituent meeting.

Learn more

Career with WENZEL

Setting new standards together!
Become part of an innovative company that has remained young despite 50 years of tradition.

Learn more

Latest news